KBB#28: Torta Pasqualina

Here it is, KBB#28 is coming. As usual KBB always surprised me with its challenge.. This time, we’re challenged to make Torta Pasqualina or known as Italian traditional Easter cake.  Torta Pasqualina is a savory pie filled with ‘spinach’, ricota cheese and egg. The original recipe uses silver beet leaf, but hearing from other kbb-ers, we can change silver beet with other vegetable such as import or frozen spinach, horenso or cassava leaf (daun singkong). Lucky me, I found horenso at supermarket easily 🙂

TIPS: From all the process, the most challenging part is making the dough, cause it’s quite tricky and sticky.. The tips is you can brush a bit of oil when you stand it for an hour and dont forget to add oil while you flatten the dough. (Thank’s mba emma esti for the tips 🙂 Other tips is to add more herbs, salt and pepper because this recipe is quite tasteless for indonesian people.

Anyway, I’m trully enjoy making and eating it, my family also love it especially when we found the egg! What a nice meal to lighten up your Easter holiday 🙂

Please enjoy the step by step photos below…

Torta Pasqualina
Source: Old Time Cooking Recipes

Ingredients:

DOUGH:
600 g (1 lb 5 oz) white flour
6 Tbs olive oil
a pinch of salt
— I add cheddar cheese for the dough

FILLING:
1 kg (2 lb) Swiss chard (silver beet) or spinach (I am using horenso leaf)
400 g (0.9 lb) cottage cheese/ricotta cheese
100 g (3.5 oz) parmesan
10 eggs
2 teaspoons marjoram, chopped
2 teaspoons parsley, chopped
garlic, minced (optional)
olive oil
salt, pepper

Preparation:

DOUGH:

  •  Combine flour, oil, a pinch of salt (about 1/2 teaspoon) and enough cold  water to make a medium soft dough.
  • Knead well for 10 minutes or until the dough becomes elastic.
  • Divide the dough into 14 balls.
  • Cover with wet cloth and let stand for about 1 hour.

FILLING:

  • Clean, wash and dry the Swiss chard/horenso – only the leaf ya.
  • Place in a saucepan with little boiling water and cook at high heat until wilted (about 2 – 3 minutes only).
  • Cool, then squeeze out excess liquid and chop finely.
  • Add 50 g (1.7 oz) parmesan cheese, marjoram, parsley, garlic and 2 eggs. Season with salt and pepper (me: I add more parmesan cheese, salt and pepper).
  • –> I mixed the horenso and cheese

HOW TO COMBINE:

  1. Oil a round shallow oven dish, 9 inches (22 cm) in diameter.
  2. Flatten each piece of dough, one at a time, making each a very thin disk, larger than the baking pan you are going to use.
  3. Lay the pastry on the oven dish, allowing it to flow over the edges. Oil it lightly.
  4. Place another disk over it and repeat until you have used 7 disks. –> I add cheddar cheese in between the 4th and 7th disk. Because I love cheese so much 🙂
  5. Spread the Swiss chard/horenso stuffing over the dough, and then spread the cheese over the greens level with a knife. –> as mention before, I mixed the horenso and cheese. I like this way better.
  6. Make 8 small cavities. Pour a raw egg into each cavity and sprinkle each with salt, pepper and remaining parmesan cheese. –> me only add 2 raw eggs, simply because I forgot to buy extra eggs hehehe
  7. Cover the whole lot with the same number of pastry sheets, each brushed with oil.
  8. Pinch the borders and trim the excess dough, prick the top of the pie in a few places and then brush with oil.
  9. Bake for 1 hour in 190 C (375 F) oven. Allow to rest before removing from the cake tin

Review: I love Torta Pasqualina, maybe because  I’m like savory meal better than sweet-tooth dessert. Next time I will make less dough for its cover, because 7 disks is too thick (I think) or I’ll use puff pastry instead. for filling, the combination of spinach and cheese is just perfect. Add I guess we always can add mushroom or smokebeef in it, to give extra taste. Yummm Thanks KBB!!

Happy Easter day everyone….!!

KBB#28: Torta Pasqualina

Leave a Reply

